CollectionArtNB welcomes works of NBCCD alumni, staff

September 8, 2023 –

The work of seven alumni, one staff member, and one faculty member was chosen to be placed in the collectionArtNB permanent collection this summer.

Ralph Simpson, a plant fibre artist who graduated from NBCCD’s Indigenous Visual Arts program (now named the Wabanaki Visual Arts program), was one of the NBCCD alumni whose work was selected.

“I am delighted and honoured to have my work form part of New Brunswick’s art legacy in collectionArtNB,” he said.

“NBCCD was instrumental in providing me with the necessary tools and contacts when I began my arts career and continues to support me even now.”

The selected artists and several notable figures in the arts industry and government gathered at Government House on September 6 to celebrate the 23 pieces added to collectionARTNB, the province’s permanent art collection. The recently added works will be displayed at Government House until mid-October and will be displayed at different locations in the province over the next year.

The nine members of the NBCCD community awarded were alumna Alanna Baird, Academic Dean Jared Peters, alumna Dawn Steeves, alumna Audrey Arsenault, alumnus Ralph Simpson, NBCCD instructor Janice Wright-Cheney, alumnus Nate Gaffney, and alumnus Shane Perley-Dutcher.

“It is important to feature local artists. It captures a moment in time. Sometimes a part of our history. Sharing these pieces brings beauty into the world,” said Tammy Scott-Wallace, minister of Tourism, Heritage, and Culture for the Government of New Brunswick.

According to the Government of New Brunswick, collectionArtNB was established in 1968 and now totals nearly 1,000 works of art made by New Brunswick artists.

“Every two years, artworks by contemporary New Brunswick artists are purchased for the collection; this is in addition to art commissioned as part of the construction of any new government building through the New Brunswick Public Art Policy,” states the government’s website.

Audrey Arsenault, an alumna of NBCCD’s Advanced Studio Practice and Jewellery/Metal Arts programs said it felt great to contribute to the province’s art collection.

“The college gave me all of the tools that and ideas that I needed to create meaningful art that is well-made,” she said.

The full list of new works of art that have been added include:

  • Audrey Arsenault – Ethnocide (2021) and Na’Gu’Set (2021)
  • Nate Gaffney – Kcihpolkon (Eagle) (2022)
  • Shane Perley-Dutcher – Reconciliation (2019)
  • Garry Sanipass – Dancing in a Circle (2021)
  • Maryse Arseneault – Rosehip (2020)
  • Alanna Baird – Sea Urchin (2021)
  • Rémi Belliveau – Land of Evangeline (2021)
  • Jon Claytor – Looking Back (2023)
  • Chelsea Gauvin – Ghost Town (2022)
  • Mario Leblanc – Stream (2021)
  • Fabiola Martinez – Reflection Study II (2019)
  • Annie France Noël – Nutri (2020)
  • Maja Padrov – Large Ewer (2022)
  • Melanie Parent – Je t’entends (2020)
  • Roula Partheniou – Shift Series (Horizontal/Vertical) (2016)
  • Jared Peters – Police (2021)
  • Ralph Simpson – Rose Hip (2021)
  • Colin Smith – South Johnville is Just Over the Hill from Florenceville-Bristol (2022)
  • Dawn Steeves – Top of the Phoenix (View from Studio4Ward) (2023)
  • Anna Torma – Dressing Up (2021)
  • Janice Wright Cheney – Portrait of a Lady Fern (2018)
  • David Zsako – Cyclops (2019)